Dr CHAN, Dorothy T.F.

Deputy Director (Administration and Resources) / Head, Centre for Logistics and Transport

Dr CHAN, Dorothy T.F. 陳阮德徽博士

BSocSc, MSocSc, PhD HK; Hon. Fellow CILT; BBS


Before taking up the position of Deputy Director in the HKU SPACE, Dr. Chan served as the Deputy Commissioner of Transport, in the Hong Kong SAR Government and has published several papers on Hong Kong’s public transport development. She was awarded the Bronze Bauhinia Star for meritorious service in transport. She regulated the operation of public transport services in Hong Kong and was also the Departmental Manager responsible for manpower development, contingency traffic co-ordination and management of transport related contracts. With her 30 years civil service career, Dr. Chan has rich experience in public administration. She promotes the development of professionalism in transport management through her involvement in the Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport in Hong Kong. She served as the President of the Hong Kong Branch in 1989, and became the International President of the Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport in 2013-14 overseeing 31 member countries.  In 2015, Dr. Chan became the Hon. Fellow of the Institute which is the highest honour given in recognition of her contribution.  She is also the Global Advisor of Women in Logistics and Transport in the Institute.

Apart from serving as Deputy Director of HKU SPACE, Dr. Chan is closely involved in training and professional development in the field of transport and public administration. She is an Honorary Associate Professor in the University of Hong Kong delivering the Master of Arts Programme in Transport Policy and Planning and Adjunct Professor, Department of Civil and Structural Engineering of Polytechnic University of Hong Kong.

Dr. Chan is an Independent Non-Executive Director of MTR Corporation Limited and AMS Public Transport Holdings Limited, a Board Member of Logistics and Supply Chain MultiTech R&D Centre Limited (LSCM), the Chairperson of Sustainable Agricultural Development Fund Advisory Committee, a Council member of MTR Academy (HK) Company Limited, a Director of the TWGHs E-Co Village Board and also a member of the Board of Governors of the Hong Kong Institute for Public Administration. She was a Member of Social Welfare Advisory Committee (2009-2014), a Member of Advisory Council on Environment and the chairperson of the Environmental Impact Assessment Sub-Committee (2007-2014).