學院國際性研討會圓滿舉行 - 香港大學專業進修學院
Main content start

校園生活學與教

學院國際性研討會圓滿舉行活動重溫

日期
2020年12月10日 (星期四)

自資高等教育是香港教育的重要組成部分,除了本地課程外,國際課程亦佔有舉足輕重的位置。香港大學專業進修學院早於九十年代開始,已積極與海外知名大學合作開辦跨國學位課程,讓市民身處本地也可接受外國高等學府的教育,取得海外大學頒授的學位。

鑑於跨國教育的需求持續轉變,學院於10月23日首次舉辦國際性研討會International Conference on Quality and Self-financed Higher Education “Connecting Local and Global”,邀請海外及本地教育界具領導地位的嘉賓講者,分享他們對跨國教育的經驗和展望,吸引超過200名來自不同時區的參加者透過實體參與或網上互動方式參加。

會議由香港大學副校長(教學)何立仁教授主持開幕,他歡迎「來自世界不同地區的大學、機構和專業團體的與會者,一起交流經驗、共建力量,以提高對自資及跨國高等教育領域的認識。」

學院院長李經文教授在會議上致辭表示:「來自不同領域和國家的精英濟濟一堂,必能透過意見交流和討論擦出火花。這些新思維將有助我們在未來為學員提供最優質的教育,以及在社會上推動終身學習。」

倫大質素  嚴謹有序

當天,倫敦大學副校長(國際)Mary Stiasny教授發表主題演講,分享倫大邁向國際化的寶貴經驗。早於1858年,學生已可以不分地域、種族、宗教、性別,修讀倫大學位課程,在全球高等教育界跨出重要一步。倫大對於教育平台、資源供應、考試評核、與全球教學中心的關係,都依循嚴謹的制度,以確保教學質素優良,以及其所頒發學位在國際間具備競爭力和卓著聲譽。

在過去160年,倫大與約50個國家簽訂合作關係,在全球建立了一個獲高度認可的教育網絡,為學生打造了最理想的學習平台。

專業課程  邁向國際

在李經文教授主持的圓桌會議上,四位本地及國際知名的講者就着「自資及跨國教育的質素 — 未來趨勢與展望」主題發表卓見。例如,香港學術及職業資歷評審局總幹事周慶邦先生表示,質素保證局的角色已經改變,由過去作為資歷認可機構演變為今天協助促進教育界持份者的質素。學院常務副院長陳龍生教授則提出,由於學和教的技術日漸進步和普及,自資教育模式出現了範式轉移。

會議當天下午共有七個交流環節。來自各國大使館、本地及海外大學的傑出專家、官員和教育工作者分別討論了關於跨國及自資教育和學與教的不同範疇議題,包括創新教學、跨國教育的政策前景、教學實踐模擬、跨國及自資課程的質素保證問題,以及香港的跨國教育經驗。

活用科技  提升效果

科技不斷發展 ,已經顛覆了傳統的教學模式。自2016年起,學院已開始發展虛擬實境(VR)應用程式,以提升不同學科課程的學習體驗。會議上展示了學院一個名為「支援多用家虛擬實境內容的航空業虛擬實境實驗室」創新項目。該項目獲得教育局質素提升支援計劃小組的撥款,VR內容能支援多名用戶參與同一虛擬場景,以培訓學生掌握飛機在緊急降落時的安全程序。

最後,學院衷心感謝何超蕸女士 BBS慷慨捐出港幣110萬元,贊助何超蕸教與學中心的發展,以提升教學質素,並贊助是次研討會。

你的意見 讓我們做得更好

HKU SPACE International Conference - HKU SPACE
Main content start

Life at HKU SPACEOur Stories

HKU SPACE International ConferenceEvent Recap

Date
10 Dec 2020 (Thu)

Self-financed higher education is an important part of Hong Kong's education. Apart from local courses, international courses also play an important role. Since the 1990s, HKU SPACE has actively cooperated with reputed overseas universities to offer transnational education (TNE) programmes to enable citizens to receive education from foreign institutions of higher education and to obtain degrees from overseas universities.

Due to continuous change in the demand for transnational education, the College hosted the International Conference on Quality and Self-financed Higher Education “Connecting Local and Global” for the first time on 23 October 2020, inviting leaders from overseas and local education circles as guest speakers to share their experiences of and prospects for transnational education which attracted over 200 participants both physically and virtually across several time zones.

Professor Ian Holliday, Vice-President and Pro-Vice-Chancellor of The University of Hong Kong inaugurated the conference and welcomed “all of the participants from different universities, institutions, professions and different parts of the world who are participating to exchange experiences, build capacity and expand their knowledge in the field of self-financed and transnational education”.

Then, Professor William K.M. Lee, Director of HKU SPACE, delivered a speech at the conference: "By bringing together people from different sectors and countries, we hope all of you will take home new thoughts and inspirations which will help us all in our endeavor to provide the best possible education provisions to our students and learners and promote lifelong learning for our society. "

Quality of University of London is strict and methodic

Pro Vice-Chancellor (International) of University of London, Professor Mary Stiasny OBE,  gave a keynote speech on the same day to share her valuable experience of internationalisation of the University. As early as 1858, it has already enabled students, wherever they were in the world and regardless of their ethnicity, religion, gender or any other identifier, to study for a degree at the University. And that was a major step in providing higher education opportunities to all. The University’s pedagogical platforms, provision of resources, evaluation of examinations and relationships with Teaching Centres worldwide all comply to strict systems to contribute to good education quality, global competitive advantages and reputation of the degree itself.

Over the last 160 years, the University has signed partnerships across roughly 50 countries and established a highly regarded education network around the world, creating an ideal learning platform for students.

Professional programmes enter the international arena

During the round-table discussion chaired by Professor William K.M. Lee, each of the four local and internationally distinguished speakers addressed different aspects of the topic ‘Quality of Self-financed and Transnational Education:  Future Trends and Outlook’. For instance, Mr Albert Chow, Executive Director of Hong Kong Council for Accreditation of Academic and Vocational Qualifications, spoke from the perspective of a quality assurance (QA) agency and suggested how the role of the QA agency has changed from a traditional accreditation authority to one that emphasises the facilitation of quality enhancement of the stakeholders. Professor Chan Lung-sang, Deputy Director of HKU SPACE, discussed the paradigm shift in the self-financed sector in relation to the increasing prevalence and presence of technology in teaching and learning.

In the afternoon, seven parallel sessions took place with distinguished experts, officials, and educators from embassies and local and overseas universities discussing the various aspects of transnational and self-financed education and teaching and learning covering topics such as innovative teaching, policy landscape pertaining to transnational education, simulations in teaching practices, quality assurance issues in transnational and self-financed programmes, and transnational education experience in Hong Kong. 

Making the best use of technology to enhance learning efficiency

The advancement and development of technology have extensively transformed traditional teaching and learning models. Since 2016, HKU SPACE has started to develop VR applications to enhance teaching and learning experiences in our courses for various fields. The conference displayed the results of one such innovative project entitled ‘Development of a Virtual Reality Laboratory with Multi-User Virtual Reality Contnet for the Aviation Industry’.  The project obtained funding from the Quality Enhancement Support Scheme (QESS) of the Education Bureau and VR contents enabling multiple users to participate in a simulated scene was developed to train students to master the safety routines when an emergency landing has to be implemented on an aircraft.

Lastly, the School would like to extend our appreciation to our sponsor, Ms Maisy Ho, BBS, for her generous donation of $1.1M for the development of the Maisy Ho Centre for Teaching and Learning to enhance the quality of teaching and learning and for the Conference as well.