書畫名家普及藝術 - 香港大學專業進修學院
Main content start

校園生活學院點滴

書畫名家普及藝術

1960-61年課程手冊封面為約翰.温訥所設計

王無邪

1950年代香港的藝術活動相當缺乏,當學院於1958年開設不同繪畫及陶藝課 程時,得到社會的熱烈回應,並為學院開拓更多藝術相關課程,打下了良好 的基礎,時至今日,有關課程仍然廣受社會歡迎。

60年代,香港大會堂美術館(香港藝術館之前身)的第一任館長約翰.温訥 渴望透過教育推廣藝術,故於1958年至1963年在香港大學校外課程部任教, 在大會堂啟用前便已盡力推動香港美術發展。

期後,兩位著名水墨畫家呂壽琨及王無邪亦曾於學院共同教授《藝術探索》、 《繪畫藝術研討》等課程。

1976年温訥退休,而他的接任人譚志成曾於1969年至1977年在學部教授如 《中國繪畫》、《基本繪畫》和《中國藝術史》等不同藝術設計課程。

學院的藝術課程在前人的基礎下不斷發展,所涵蓋的藝術範疇擴展至書法、雕塑等,亦不乏「大師級」藝術家如書法家王齊樂先生(由1996年開始任教至今,並獲頒授「傑出導師獎」)、書法篆刻家葉民任先生(由 1991年任教至今)及山水畫家熊海先生(由1984年任教至今),繼續為香 港的藝術教育承傳下去。

Main content start

Life at HKU SPACEMemorabilia

Bringing Art to the Community

The 1960-61 prospectus cover designed by John Warner

Wucius Wong

In the 1950s, there were few if any art-related activities in the city. But when the DEMS started to offer art courses in 1958, there was a keen response from the community which laid the foundation for a wide range of art courses that remain hugely popular to this day.

John Warner, the first curator of the Hong Kong Museum of Art in 1962, could not find a better way to promote art Hong Kong but to teach at the DEMS from 1958 until 1963, before the opening of the Museum.

Later, two famous Chinese ink painters Lui Shou-kwan and Wucius Wong also taught courses at the DE MS which included “A Survey of Art” and a “Basic Painting Workshop”.

1976, Laurence Tam who succeeded John Warner as curator of the Hong Kong Museum of Art also taught numerous courses for the DEMS from 1969 until 1977, such as “Chinese Painting”, “Basic Painting” and “History of Chinese Art”.

John Warner, Lui Shou-kwan, Wucius Wong and Laurence Tam spent much of their lives on art development in Hong Kong, leaving footsteps for their apprentices to follow through. The School’s art courses were so well-established by all the past tutors, making it possible to have Chinese calligraphy courses and courses in sculpture added later and taught by other renowned tutors such as calligrapher Wong Chai-lok who started teaching in 1996 and was awarded for his excellence in teaching; calligrapher Yip Man-yam who started teaching in 1991 and Chinese ink painter Hung Hoi who started teaching in 1984. These three inspiring artists and teachers are still conducting classes today.