三年發展策略藍圖 鞏固電子教學領先地位 - 香港大學專業進修學院
Main content start

校園生活 學與教

三年發展策略藍圖 鞏固電子教學領先地位活動重溫

日期
2020年12月10日 (星期四)

因應2019年發生的社會事件及2020年爆發的新冠病毒疫情,全港教育界將面授課堂轉為網上教學,這正好配合學院的既定策略。為促進電子教與學的發展,學院制定了三年計劃,一方面按不同學科需要引入創新技術教材和配套,另一方面深化教師在電子教學上的技巧。學院深信,兩者相輔相成之下,學習效果必能加乘,也標誌着學院在網上教學發展上的領先地位。

軟硬件各就各位  走上發展高速公路

學院院長李經文教授表示:「時代變遷,科技日新月異,對教學和學習都有重要影響。結合資訊科技的電子學習能夠啟發創意教學,提升學習效率,這與學院的教學改革理念一脈相承。電子學習更補充了面授教學的不足,它能打破地域界限,是實踐終身學習的有效模式,也是教育發展大趨勢。」今年年初,學院制定了2020-23三年計劃,從提升教學軟硬件及人才培訓兩大方向出發,是學院在教學革新發展上的重要里程。

硬件方面,學院投入二千萬港元為課室配置電子學習設施、提升軟硬件設備。去年年底,學院邀請了一位美國專家顧問就設置現代課室提供詳細意見,並因應新型肺炎疫情而加快了發展步伐。今年九月底止,學院已為144個課室升級為適合網上教學,教師可於課室直播課堂,供學生遙距學習。

身兼學院科技教學委員會主席的常務副院長(文學及科學)盧兆興教授表示:「截至2020年10月底,過去一年使用虛擬課室網上直播授課次數逾20,000。同時,應用電子學習的課程亦由2016/17學年佔學院全部課程大約六成,大幅飆升至2019/20學年超過九成,當中逾七成為使用混合教學模式及以電子教學法設計的課程。」

A 3-year plan of enhanced e-Learning to strengthen leading position

此外,學院自2018年起已在港島東分校發展CAVE和虛擬實境實驗室設施;又於2020年7月在港島南(薄扶林)分校的TechnoSPACE科技中心設置全新CAVE系統和虛擬實境實驗室,以深化學生的虛擬學習體驗。軟件方面,截至2020年7月31日,學院一共發展了27個VR虛擬實境/AR擴增實境項目,並應用於75個學科中,包括航空學、建築設計、圖書館服務、護理學、藥劑學、體育及康樂管理和零售營銷策略。

人才培訓提升技巧  教師變身科技師

軟硬件就緒,教師亦須懂得靈活使用,才能使電子教學有效發展。盧教授指出:「學與教的基本結構是由教學、學習與學習效果評估所組成。這個三角關係因應時代、環境和其他外在變遷而發展及改變。當這個結構由傳統實體課室移至網上虛擬世界,教師就要身兼教師與科技師兩重身份。」為此,學院定期舉辦培訓課程,向教職員介紹虛擬課室、自動虛擬實境空間(CAVE)及SOUL 2.0等最新技術和知識,截至去年七月,過往一年共舉辦了超過150個培訓班,幫助他們發展及教授網上課程,共約2,700名教師及職員參與。今年的培訓課程內容更廣泛、更深入,並以四大主題出發:初級電子學習、進階電子學習、輔助教學工具(例如教學流動程式)及教學法。有關影片已上載至SOUL 2.0網上學習系統以供教師隨時收看或重溫。

電子學習反轉了傳統學與教模式,對教師和學生都帶來巨大挑戰。前者除了要提升軟件操作技巧外,教材方面也要變得多元化,如加入視頻或其他元素,讓課堂變得更精彩、更有趣。至於學生,盧教授認為:「他們年輕又靈活,一下子就變成電腦高手,操作電腦程式和電子設備幾乎沒有難度。」

從實體課室走到虛擬課室,不單影響教學和學習,甚至學習效果評估方法也要作出相應調整,由過去學生聚集考場進行筆試改作校外考試,例如以論文評核成績。

前瞻未來,李經文教授認為:「電子學習已是學與教的主流,視乎發展步伐緩或急。今年因突發事故要在短時間內由面授課程改為網上學習,是一次革命性的蛻變,也是一個痛苦的過渡。不過,社會變遷,市場轉化,我們必須與時並進,才免被洪流淘汰。」

資料來源:學院科技教學委員會三年計劃 (2020-23) (202010)及大學教育資助委員會質素保證局副學位課程質素核證進度報告 (20208)

A 3-year plan of enhanced e-Learning to strengthen leading position - HKU SPACE
Main content start

Life at HKU SPACEOur Stories

A 3-year plan of enhanced e-Learning to strengthen leading positionEvent Recap

Date
10 Dec 2020 (Thu)

In response to certain social events in 2019 and the outbreak of COVID-19 in 2020, Hong Kong’s education institutions have switched from face-to-face to online learning. This is in line with the policy of HKU SPACE. In order to improve the development of e-Learning, the School has devised a 3-year plan. On the one hand, it introduces innovative education and supporting materials which utilises advanced technology based on the needs of different disciplines; on the other hand, it helps to deepen teachers' skills in teaching virtually. It is believed that with the two approaches complementing each other, it will be more effective for students to learn. This marks the School’s leading role in the development of online teaching.

Software and hardware are in place for rapid development

Professor William K.M. Lee, Director of HKU SPACE, said, “Changing times and rapidly advancing technology have an important impact on teaching and learning. Combined with information technology, e-Learning can inspire creative teaching and improve learning efficiency, which is in line with the School’s teaching reform concept. E-Learning is more helpful in complementing the shortcomings of face-to-face teaching through breaking geographical boundaries. It’s an effective model for practicing lifelong learning as well as being a megatrend in education development.” At the beginning of this year, the School devised a 3-year plan for 2020-23 to improve teaching software & hardware and talent training. It is an important milestone for the School in teaching innovation and development.

In terms of hardware, the School invested HK$20 million to equip classrooms with e-Learning facilities and upgraded software and hardware. At the end of last year, the School invited an American expert consultant to provide detailed advice on setting up modern classrooms and accelerated the pace of development due to the COVID-19 pandemic. As of the end of September this year, the School has upgraded 144 classrooms for online teaching. Teachers can broadcast courses in the classrooms for students’ online learning.

Professor Sonny S.H. Lo, Chairman of the Committee on Technology and Teaching and Learning as well as the Deputy Director (Arts & Sciences) at HKU SPACE, said, “As of the end of October 2020, virtual classrooms have been used over 20,000 times for online classes in the past year. Also, amongst the School’s total programmes/courses, the percentage of e-learning programmes/courses has risen from nearly 60% in the 2016/17 academic year to over 90% in 2019/20, and more than 70% of which were programmes/courses which used a blended learning model and e-Learning pedagogical principle to design/develop materials.”

A 3-year plan of enhanced e-Learning to strengthen leading position

In addition, since 2018, the School has developed CAVE (Cave Automatic Virtual Environment) and VR (Virtual Reality) laboratory facilities in the HKU SPACE Island East campus; and in July 2020, it set up a new CAVE system and VR laboratory at the TechnoSPACE technology center, Island South (Pokfulam) campus, to deepen students’ virtual learning experience. In terms of software, as of 31 July 2020, the School has developed a total of 27 VR/AR (Augmented Reality) content and employed them in 75 courses, including aviation, architectural design, library services, nursing, pharmaceutics, sports and recreation management and strategic retail marketing.

Talent training improves skills and teachers turn into technology experts

Software and hardware are ready, and teachers must also know how to use them flexibly in order to achieve effective e-Learning. Professor Lo pointed out, “The basic structure of learning and teaching is composed of teaching, learning and assessment. This triangular relationship develops and changes due to different times, environments and other external changes. When the structure is transferred from physical classrooms to the virtual world online, teachers need to be both teachers and technology experts.” Therefore, the School regularly organises training courses to introduce teachers to the latest technology and knowledge, such as virtual classrooms, C​​AVE (Cave Automatic Virtual Environment) and SOUL 2.0. As of July 2019, more than 150 training courses were held in the past year to help them develop and teach online courses, and around 2,700 teachers and staff attended. The training courses this year have been more extensive and with deeper content, with 4 major themes: elementary e-Learning, advanced e-Learning, supplementary teaching enrichment (such as teaching apps) and pedagogical issues. The relevant videos have been uploaded to the SOUL 2.0 online learning platform for teachers to watch or review at any time.

E-Learning is a reversal of traditional learning and teaching models, and has brought great challenges to both teachers and students. In addition to improving software skills, teachers also need to add more diversified teaching materials, such as videos or other elements, to make their courses more exciting and interesting. As for students, Professor Lo said, “They are young and flexible - they can master computer skills very quickly and hardly have any difficulties in operating computer programmes or electronic equipment.”

Switching from physical to virtual classrooms not only has an impact on teaching and learning, but assessment for learning effectiveness also need to be adjusted accordingly. The traditional method of having students gathered in examination rooms for written examinations has been turned into external examinations, such as marking grades based on essays.

Looking ahead to the future, Professor William K.M. Lee believes that, “E-Learning has become the mainstream of learning and teaching, depending on its pace of development. This year, due to an emergency, we switched from face-to-face to online learning in a short period of time. It’s a revolutionary change as well as a difficult transition. However, with social changes and market transformations, we must keep up with the times to avoid being obsolete.”

Source: HKU SPACE Committee on Technology and Teaching and Learning 3-Year Pan for 2020-23 (Oct 2020) and Progress Report on the UGC Quality Assurance Council
Audit of Sub-degree Operations of HKU (August 2020)