Main content start

Life at HKU SPACE Our Stories

The 7th Honorary Fellowship CeremonyEvent Recap

16 Jul 2021 (Fri)

The 7th Honorary Fellowship Ceremony

The 7th Honorary Fellowship Ceremony of HUK SPACE was successfully held on 28 May 2021. This year, the School has awarded the Honorary Fellowship to five individuals who have made outstanding achievements in their respective fields and to recognise their efforts and important contributions to society and the School.

The ceremony is usually held in December each year but was postponed to this May due to the severe situation of COVID-19 last year. In addition, in order to support the government's anti-pandemic policies and protect public health, the number of guests at the ceremony was adjusted appropriately. We also broadcasted the ceremony online for those who could not attend in person, hoping to share this joyous occasion with them together.

The ceremony this year was held in the Professor and Mrs Enoch Young Lecture Theatre at the Admiralty Learning Centre, and hosted by Professor Edward K.Y. Chen, Chairman of HKU SPACE Board of Directors. Professor William K.M. Lee, Director of HKU SPACE, delivered the welcoming address, and Deputy Directors Dr Dorothy Chan, Professor Chan Lung-sang, Dr John Cribbin, Professor Sonny Lo, and Dr CL Chan, Chief Information Officer, gave great words to the five awardees of the Honorary Fellowship respectively to praise their great achievements and contributions.

The five outstanding individuals who were awarded the Honorary Fellowship:

Professor Cheng Kin-fai
Dr Ko Wing-man
Mr Lam Chiu-ying
Mr Vincent Wong Ling-sun
Ms Esther Wong May-wai

These five individuals are full of enthusiasm about their life and work. In addition to their great contributions in their own fields, they also actively guide and help younger generations. They are excellent learning examples for young people to follow.

The School has been serving Hong Kong for 64 years since its establishment in 1957. It has received strong support from leaders of different professional circles, who have made contributions to the School in different aspects and have promoted it to become a leading institution in providing high-quality continuing education. Since 2014, the School set up the Honorary Fellowship to recognise the elites who have made important contributions to the School, academia and Hong Kong, confirming the School’s close relationship with the local community and the education sector.