教與學的蛻變——網上見! - 香港大學專業進修學院
Main content start

校園生活學與教

教與學的蛻變——網上見!專題報導

日期
2020年7月23日 (星期四)

2020年是充滿變化的一年,一場疫情使不同領域行業走上變革之路,力求在競爭中處於不倒優勢。教育界對停課措施也迅速作出應變安排,全港大中小學包括香港大學專業進修學院將課室移至無垠的網上世界,實行全民網上學習。

科技成就多元教育模式

學院致力以創新的教學方法,提升學生的學習經驗,故早已在這個版塊上投放了大量資源。學院院長李經文教授表示:「科技急速進步,上網已經成為日常;知識不再局限於書本,學習也不止於教室。學院深信,發展打破地域的網上教學平台、引入先進技術教材和配套,能夠啟發創意教學,從而有效提升學習成效。」

他續稱:「我們希望未來推出更多結合網上及面授形式的混合式教學課程,以提升教學質素;在危機發生時,全面網上授課更會成為學院恆常的教學模式。除了照顧因個人或其他原因無法來到課堂的學生外,長遠而言,我們亦矢志為一帶一路國家提供終身學習的機會。」

擁抱科技的教育藍圖

為配合這個目標,學院成立了創新科技諮詢委員會,為導師及課程設計提供資訊科技相關的意見,並推行了多項電子教學的計劃。學院首個MOOC「佛教:《金剛經》與世界和平」已在2018年上線;第二個MOOC「佛教:《金剛經》禪觀」亦於2019年推出,讓身處不同地域的大眾可自由獲取學習資源,故贏得了廣泛好評。去年初,為學員及校友網盡職場情報的一站式網上平台Career SPACE正式揭幕,標誌着學院發展的重要里程碑。

此外,學院為新舊課程注入不同的科技元素,透過虛擬教室、Webinar、網上學習平台SOUL、視訊工具Zoom和影片分享平台Vimeo等,以互動模式授課,以豐富學生的學習經驗;目前已在航空學、營養學、食品及營養科學、圖書館及資訊科學、市場學、護理學及藥物學等不同學科引入VR、AR及3D打印技術,而洞穴式自動虛擬實境(CAVE),更可讓不同學科(如建築、市場推廣及零售管理等)的同學以互動學習形式探索世界。學院以靈活而有效的教學模式推行電子學習,在持續進修教育界別奠定了領導地位。

混合式教學成教育新趨勢

展望將來,李經文教授表示:「作為持續教育機構的創新先行者,我們必須擁抱新興學習技術,而開拓科技相關的課程就是學院的重點策略。為此,我們計劃將港島南分校打造成一所創新科技中心TechnoSPACE,用以支援VR/CAVE實驗室、航空課實驗室、電競場及其他相關設施,配合技術密集學科如航空學、電競、土力工程、數據科學及網絡安全的發展需要。為配合電子教學的發展,硬件方面,學院將逐步設立混合式教室、遙距學習教室、虛擬教室及線上內容製作,便利不同課程小組、導師及學員在網上進行同步傳輸。今年12月,學院將會有超過100間升級成為適合網上教學的課室,為學生學習提供高度靈活性。」

李經文教授續稱:「課程方面,學院未來再會推出多個全新混合式教學課程。另外,我們亦會着重培訓全職及兼職導師在電子教學方面的技巧;兼職教員更可獲資助參加相關工作坊,以提升在網上授課時與學生互動等技巧。」

總括而言,李經文教授說:「學院向以優質課程及教學見稱,面授課程一直以來是我們的黃金標準,即使課堂改以網上形式進行,此標準仍會得到保持。因此,學院的質素保證機制將適應這種全新教學模式,確保網上課堂擁有面授課堂的質素,以鞏固學生的信心。」

The evolution of teaching and learning – see you online! - HKU SPACE
Main content start

Life at HKU SPACEOur Stories

The evolution of teaching and learning – see you online!Feature Story

Date
23 Jul 2020 (Thu)

2020 has been a year full of changes. The pandemic propelled various sectors onto the path of reform, to remain ahead of the curve in a competitive environment. The education sector from primary, secondary through to tertiary education, including HKU SPACE, also reacted swiftly to the recent class closures, moving their classrooms to the boundless online world, realising the vision of online education for all.

Multi-faceted model of education made possible via technological progress

HKU SPACE is committed to investing in and utilising advanced technology as well as available learning resources to promote innovative and creative teaching pedagogies for the enhancement of learning experiences. Professor William K.M. Lee, Director of HKU SPACE, said, “With technology advancing rapidly, activities online have become a new normal; knowledge no longer lives exclusively in books, and learning is no longer confined within the classroom. We firmly believe that online education platforms that break geographical boundaries, with the introduction of education and supporting materials utilising advanced technology, possess the power to inspire creative teaching, which in turn increases the effectiveness of learning.”

We aim to enhance quality teaching and learning through offering more blended courses that combine online and face-to-face teaching in future, and even provide full online courses in times of crisis as part of our standard offering. As well as catering to students who cannot attend the classes in person due to personal and other reasons, we also aim to provide lifelong learning opportunities for the One Belt One Road countries in the long run,” he added.

An education blueprint that embraces technology

In order to achieve this goal, HKU SPACE has established a new Advisory Committee on Innovation and Technology, which offers IT-related advice for instructors on course design. A number of initiatives on e-learning development have been launched. Our first MOOC (Massive Open Online Course), “Buddhism: Diamond Sutra and World Peace”, was launched in 2018 followed by “Buddhism: Diamond Sutra and Zen Meditation” in 2019 to widespread acclaim, allowing students around the world to freely access curriculum resources worldwide. Career SPACE, a one-stop online career platform for students and alumni, was launched in early 2019, marking an important milestone for our development.

Besides, the School has instilled various elements of technology in both new and existing courses, through a range of tools including virtual classroom, Webinar, online learning platform SOUL, visual communication tool Zoom and video-sharing platform Vimeo, to enrich our students’ learning experience and to teach in an interactive manner. Currently, VR, AR and 3D printing have been introduced to various subjects including aviation, dietetics, food & nutrition, library and information studies, marketing, healthcare and pharmaceutical studies. Furthermore, CAVE (Cave Automatic Virtual Environment, offering virtual and augmented reality) allows students students of different disciplines like Architectural Studies, Marketing and Retail Management to explore the world through an interactive learning model. The developments in e-learning strategically demonstrate that HKU SPACE is a successful and premier provider in continuing education and lifelong learning through a flexible and effective approach.

Hybrid learning – the new future of education

Looking ahead, Professor Lee expressed, “As a pioneer of continuing education, HKU SPACE must embrace emerging technology in learning, whilst the development of technology related courses is a key strategy for the School. Towards this goal, we plan to develop our Island South campus into an innovative technology centre that supports VR/CAVE laboratories, aviation laboratories, e-sports arenas, and other related facilities, to meet the needs for technology-intensive disciplines such as aviation, e-sports, geotechnical engineering, data science, and cybersecurity in their development. This will become our TechnoSPACE. Elsewhere, in terms of hardware, we will gradually introduce hybrid classrooms, distance learning classrooms, virtual classrooms and online content creation, in order to meet the needs of the development of digital learning. These facilities will allow simultaneous online transmission by instructors and students from different course groups. By December, there will be over 100 classrooms converted for online delivery to provide high flexibility to learners.”

“As for course offerings, a range of brand new blended courses will be launched in the future. We also put emphasis on the training of both full-time and part-time teachers so that they will be equipped with the necessary skills of e-Learning. And part-time teachers will be given a training subsidy for them to undertake certain training including the techniques of engagement with students during online classes,” said Professor Lee.

“HKU SPACE has been known for its quality programmes and teaching. Our face to face delivery of courses is the gold standard, and as we move to online delivery, this standard must be maintained. To this end our quality assurance mechanisms will adapt to this new delivery mode, so that our students are confident that the online delivery has the quality benchmark as they would expect from a face to face taught course,” he concluded.