桌球尖子吳安儀:相信便能成就 - 香港大學專業進修學院
Main content start

校園生活 學與教

桌球尖子吳安儀:相信便能成就

日期
2015年11月27日 (星期五)

樣子嬌滴滴的吳安儀,予人一種甜美乖巧的感覺,但如果以此第一印象就把安儀定型的話,那絕對有百分之八十以上的誤差,因為玲瓏的安儀是香港桌球代表,曾經多次代表香港東征西討,屢為香港拿下世界冠軍的殊榮。問小妮子的座右銘,她會說:「相信,便能成就。(If you believe it, you can achieve it.) 」

現時在學院修讀會計課程的安儀,經常遊走於球桌與書桌之間爭分奪秒。她表示,曾經試過比賽與測驗時間相撞,幸而得到學院體諒,讓她提早獨立應試,此等彈性安排,讓她可以讀書桌球兩兼顧。

打 波 與 讀 書 看 似 風 馬 牛 不 相 及 , 但 在 安 儀 眼中,兩者是互為連結的:「打桌球與會計,當中 都 包 含 數 據 分 析 , 從 前 打 波 憑 感 覺 改 進 ,現時會利用所學,去計算如何改進發球角度,所以學習不但沒有影響練習,反而有助精進球技。」

身為運動員的她亦不忘寄語各位要上班又要上學的人士,要抱持運動員全力以赴的精神,專注做好面前的事情,相信自己便可以成就所想。

Snooker Star Ng On Yee: You achieve when you believe - HKU SPACE
Main content start

Life at HKU SPACE Our Stories

Snooker Star Ng On Yee: You achieve when you believe

Date
27 Nov 2015 (Fri)

Dollish and petite, Ng On Yee exudes sweetness and charm. But don’t be fooled by her delicate demeanour. Ng is the reigning World Ladies Snooker Champion for 2015, a past Asian Games Gold Medallist and World IBSF Champion. Ask Ng for her motto and she’ll say, “if you believe it, you can achieve it.”

Ng is currently enrolled in an accounting programme at the School and she frequently has to rush between the snooker table and her desk. She said that in the past, her competitions had occasionally clashed with her studies and examinations, but she was fortunate in having the understanding of the School to permit her to take her examinations earlier and independently. Such flexible arrangements have allowed her to engage fully in both her studies and her sport.

Playing snooker and accounting may seem rather at odds with each other, but in Ng’s perspective, the two are actually rather similar. “Both snooker and accounting involve analysing data”, she says. “In the past, I relied solely on my instinct, but now I use what I have learned in accounting to calculate my moves and improve on various angles of execution on the snooker table. Studying has not affected my practice, in fact I have actually improved my game as I have advanced in my studies.”

As a world champion, Ng reminds those of us who have to work and study at the same time to embody the spirit of an athlete and focus on the positive, knowing that as long as you believe, you will achieve.