走進法律界之旅 機會由你掌握 - 香港大學專業進修學院
Main content start

校園生活 學與教

走進法律界之旅 機會由你掌握專題報導

日期
2022年5月4日 (星期三)
Jasmin Chan

Jasmin Chan

張慧雯

張慧雯

在同一行業打拼多年的人,總認為轉行並不是簡單的事,特別是要轉換到專業領域,很多人更是想也不敢想。其實只要有決心,改變職業跑道也許比想像中容易;事實可以證明,成功挑戰自我、突破固有框框的大有人在。

張慧雯:從劇集主角到法律專才

擁有T型技能者是職場上灸手可熱的人才。T型人才除了擁有各種通才外,也具備深刻的專業知識和獨到見解,工作時能夠將這些技能結合運用,達到最大效果,也能創造更多可能性。多才多藝的張慧雯正是T型人才的很好例子。

張慧雯參選2009年度多倫多華裔小姐贏得了冠軍、最上鏡小姐和魅力傳城大獎,並在2010年國際中華小姐競選上勇奪季軍。2012年,她首度演出無線電視劇集《On Call 36小時》便擔任女主角,憑藉「簡晶晶」一角為觀眾所熟悉,在演藝路上可說是贏在起跑線。

然而,好學的張慧雯未有因星途平坦而自滿。「我希望挑戰自己,不止是女主角,也是一名律師,我相信通過自己的努力和決心,一定能夠達到目標!」

說到做到,她以優異成績在香港大學專業進修學院的法律文憑課程(Diploma in Legal Studies)畢業後,目前在學院的國際知名合作夥伴倫敦大學修讀法律學士學位試課程。對未來充滿信心的張慧雯說:「希望日後能夠在法律領域上一展所長,展開人生新的一頁。」

Jasmin從思考轉行到轉型成功

Jasmin Chan 在客戶服務和市場營銷行業工作八年後,便萌生轉行念頭,她夢想可以成為律師,便決定報讀法律課程。她選擇以香港大學專業進修學院的法律證書課程(Certificate in Legal Studies)為起點,然後是Graduate Diploma in English and Hong Kong Law,均取得優異的成績;及後更成功獲得香港大學的全日制法學專業證書取錄,逐步向自己的夢想邁進。

Jasmin表示,選擇 HKU SPACE是因為學院在兼讀制法律課程上擁有良好聲譽,曾經幫忙不少人士在職轉型。對於成功秘訣,她建議:「制定一個合適的時間表並堅持下去,不要走堂!你可以在課堂上學到很多東西,能讓你對考試更有信心。」

港大畢業後的Jasmin現在已成為見習律師,同時也是學院的學生導師,她會定期回到學院為法律學生提供指導,希望以過來人身份分享學習心得。

HKU SPACE 是倫敦大學認可的教學中心,60 多年來學院一直致力於為其法學學士學位提供預備課程。 學院也是唯一一家提供Graduate Diploma in English and Hong Kong Law的機構,此課程與英國曼徹斯特都會大學合作超過 30 年,是香港最受學生歡迎的兼讀制法律課程。本學院的使命,就是給予有夢想、肯堅持的人一個機會。

Graduate Diploma in English and Hong Kong Law (CPE)及倫敦大學法律學士學位試課程屬《非本地高等及專業敎育(規管)條例》下的豁免課程。個別僱主可酌情決定是否承認本課程可令學員獲取的任何資格

The journey into a legal career: Hold the key to the world of law - HKU SPACE
Main content start

Life at HKU SPACE Our Stories

The journey into a legal career: Hold the key to the world of lawFeature Story

Date
04 May 2022 (Wed)
Jasmin Chan

Jasmin Chan

Lizabeth Chang

Lizabeth Chang

People who have worked for many years in the same industry often believe that switching career is not an easy task, especially when they want to move into a professional field, which is something many people don’t even dare to dream of. However, as long as you are determined, switching careers may be easier than you think. In fact, many people have challenged themselves and successfully broken out of their limitations.

Lizabeth Chang: From female lead to legal talent

People with T-shaped skills are popular in recruitment. A T-shaped talent not only has a broad range of skills, but also has deep knowledge and unique insights into professional fields. They are able to combine their skills to maximise their performance and results at work, creating more opportunities. The versatile Lizabeth Chang is a great example of someone who has a T-shaped talent.

In 2009, Lizabeth Chang won Miss Chinese Toronto Pageant, and was also named Miss Photogenic and Miss Popularity. In 2010, she was Miss Chinese International Pageant second runner-up. In 2012, she had her broadcast TV debut, introducing herself to the audience through playing the female lead Kan Ching Ching in “The Hippocratic Crush”. Even though her acting career was a success from the start, Chang remained humble with a studious attitude. “I intend to challenge myself from being a leading actress, aiming to become a lawyer. I believe with my hard work and determination; I will reach my goal,” said Chang.

Just as she said she would, she graduated the HKU SPACE Diploma in Legal Studies programme with flying colours, and is currently attending Bachelor of Laws (LL.B.) Preparation Courses at the internationally renowned University of London, a longstanding partner of HKU SPACE. “I hope to live up to my full potential in the legal field in the future, and begin a new chapter in my life,” Chang said with confidence.

Jasmin Chan: Finding the right time to change career path

After 8 years in customer service and marketing, Jasmin Chan began to consider a career switch.  She dreamed of becoming a lawyer, and decided to embark on studying law. Starting on Hong Kong’s best introductory law programme, the HKU SPACE’s Certificate in Legal Studies, Jasmin built on her accomplishments as she continued to get a Distinction on the HKU SPACE’s Graduate Diploma in English and Hong Kong Law and successfully secured a place on the full-time PCLL programme at HKU, moving another step closer to her dream.

Jasmin said she chose HKU SPACE because the School has a great reputation in part-time law studies, and has helped many full-time employees with their career switch. Her advice: “Plan a suitable schedule and stick to it. Never skip a class! You can learn so much in class, and it will give you more confidence for the exams.”

After graduating from Hong Kong University, Jasmin is now a trainee solicitor. She is also a mentor at HKU SPACE, regularly returning to the School to give guidance to law students, and share her experience.

HKU SPACE is a Recognised Teaching Centre for the University of London, with which it has been working for more than 60 years on providing Preparation Courses for its LL.B. The School is also the only provider of the Graduate Diploma in English and Hong Kong Law, which has been offered in partnership with Manchester Metropolitan University for more than 30 years, and is Hong Kong’s most popular part-time pathway  to a legal career for non-law graduates. The mission of the School is to offer an opportunity to those who have dreams and perseverance.

The Graduate Diploma in English and Hong Kong Law (CPE) and the University of London LL.B. Preparation Courses are exempted courses under the Non-Local Higher and Professional Education (Regulation) Ordinance. It is a matter of discretion for individual employers to recognise any qualification to which this course may lead.